Not Again!

So, here I am four months after Hurricane Sandy without power again. The storm was beyond anything any of us imagined it could be, and certainly reminded me I have a lot to be thankful for. One week without power in November was something I could endure, but I know that nothing compares to the strength of the thousands of people who were more deeply affected, and those that even lost everything.

Anyway…a transformer blew in my neighborhood and once again, my family and I are finding ourselves without electricity (hopefully not for too long!) Last semester in Dr. Brause’s class, she gave us the option of writing up “25 Things to Do When the Lights Go Out!”  inspired by the recent hurricane chaos. So many of these fun ideas could easily be transferable to the classroom and really urge you to get creative. My classmates had some awesome ideas and here are a few of my own:

  1. Learn how to knit
  2. Play ZOOM
  3. Huddle together for a flashlight-lit story time
  4. Make s-mores over gas lit appliances or candles (if safety permits)
  5. Make a “reading” fort
  6. Play “I Have…Who Has?” with states and their capitols
  7. Play “I’m going on a picnic…”
  8. Do a free draw “visualization” activity – one person describes a person, place, thing, situation and other’s draw it.
  9. Do a “blind sketch” activity following the same rules as #7
  10. Make puppets and put on a play or performance of a favorite story
  11. Go on a nature walk and record and illustrate what you see
  12. Play Mad-Libs
  13. Round Robin Storytelling – Have one person begin a story and stop while their neighbor picks up where they left off…see where you end up!
  14. READ!!
  15. Write a story and illustrate it
  16. Have a board game/cards night
  17. Create a recipe book of favorite recipes
  18. Sing, whistle or hum to play “Name that tune!”
  19. Play 20 Questions
  20. Put on a talent show
  21. Play I-Spy
  22. Do a jig-saw puzzle
  23. Begin or write in your journal
  24. Tell ghost stories
  25. Go around the room and say one positive thing about everyone in it or a goal/dream that you have for yourself

…….As I finish writing this I’ve received a text from my mom that power is back on! Woohoo!!!

 Image

3 thoughts on “Not Again!

  1. What a great list! Your post reminds me of Kristen’s blog today- about the simplicity of childhood. I think that when the power goes out we are so worried about when we will get our power back (i.e. access to the internet, social networking sights, TVs, etc.) that we forget that our imaginations and creativity can provide us with the ultimate forms of entertainment. Seemed to be a lot easier to do that as a kid…
    (P.S. I would absolutely make a reading fort!)

  2. So cute!!! One of my favorite things to do when the power went out as a kid was to read. I remember getting so mad when it got too dark outside to read by natural light. My dad would never let me “waste” flashlight battery power on reading. Clearly he had his priorities mixed up!

Leave a comment