180 Degrees: WordPress Daily Prompt

Tell us about a time you did a 180 — changed your views on something, reversed a decision, or acted in a way you ordinarily don’t.

When I read this, I immediately thought of how I met one of my best friends, Jackie. Jackie and I have been friends for eight years, ever since she came to my high school as new 9th grader. I had attended my school since 6th grade and the transition to high school wasn’t too difficult for me. I already knew everyone and had my group of friends established, or so I thought. We received 20 new girls in 9th grade from varying school districts and other Catholic schools in the area. It was exciting to have a bunch of new girls in our grade, but I wasn’t intimidated because as far as I was concerned, I wasn’t a “new kid”. 

Pre-season for fall sports started two weeks before the first day of school. I showed up to field hockey try outs with my friends, excited to begin practicing. I remember we were all looking around, spotting the “new girls” and wondering who we could be friends with. This sounds awful, but it’s true! We were definitely sizing everyone up, not in a mean, threatening way, but rather in a curious way. We had been stuck together for years and it was exciting to see so many new faces. 

Somehow I came face to face with Jackie and enthusiastically introduced myself. I remember she pretty much ignored me and seemed to be responding to everyone but me when I talked to her. To add insult to injury, she was super aggressive on the field! I was all for being an aggressive player, but Jackie pretty much body checked me when we were doing one-on-one drills. She barely said sorry even though I mumbled an apology for knocking into her…even though it was NOT my fault. 

I got angrier and more insulted at this new girl as the days went on. Jackie stuck mainly with the other new 9th graders during practices. In small conversations on the sidelines, I attempted to get to know the other new girls and forge some friendships. Jackie still basically wanted nothing to do with me and ignored me or walked away when I talked. One day I was so offended I confided in my new friend, Deirdre (who is also one of my oldest, closest friends to this day). I remember turning to her and saying “What is the deal with this Jackie girl? She is SO rude!” Deirdre looked at me and laughed uncomfortably. I could tell I went too far. “Um, I think she’s nice! What do you mean?” She obviously did not agree with me, but didn’t want to say so. I definitely turned red and became very embarrassed, saying something like “Oh, nevermind!” Great, this girl didn’t like me and I just flat out told one of her friends!

As the weeks went on, I got to know Jackie inside of school. One day, something clicked. I don’t know how or why, but we became inseparable and stayed that way throughout high school and college. A few years later, we were reminiscing about how we met each other. Laughing, I told Jackie my first impression of her. She began laughed hysterically also, and told me she was afraid of me when she met me because on the first day of practice she thought I was a senior girl. She told me she kept wondering why a senior in high school would talk to a new freshman. This explains why she would look or walk away every time I talked to her and why I thought she wanted nothing to do with me!

You could say I did a complete 180 when it comes to Jackie. This situation has definitely taught me that first impressions do not always indicate the quality of someone’s character. Before making that harsh judgment, get to know someone…they might just turn out to be your best friend!

 

 

ImageImage

4 thoughts on “180 Degrees: WordPress Daily Prompt

  1. I had a very similar experience with one of my best friends from college. It still make me smile from ear-to-ear when I think about our first impressions of each other, and I chuckle to myself “how could he have thought that”! Thank you for sharing your 180 degree story with us, and making me smile from ear to ear remembering my own similar story.

Leave a comment